03
Jan
08

Are “All you can eat Buffets” no longer “All you can eat?”

All last year, I seemed to keep running into articles where people were denied food, over charged, banned from a restaurant or some combination of the above, for “hearty eating habits”:

A 6-foot-3, 265-pound man says a restaurant overcharged him for his trips to the buffet line, then banned him and a relative because they’re hearty eaters.

LOL… er Whut?

On his most recent visit, he said, a waitress gave him and his wife’s cousin, 44-year-old Michael Borrelli, a bill for $46.40, roughly double the buffet price for two adults.

Ok. Now lessee here. The last time I checked, most “all you can eat” buffet style dining spots charged a flat fee for *Gasp* all you can eat!! What gives?

“She says, ‘Y’all fat, and y’all eat too much,'” Labit said. – [Yahoo/AP]

OH Come on! Look. I’m a portly creature. I like my food. Very well done, if you must know. And when I go to an “All you can eat” Buffet, I expect to be able to consume ALL I CAN EAT at a single sitting. No extra charges based on my size or weight, or whether I could clear out the whole restaurant in a single sitting, or whether or not I happen to have flames instead of hair. That’s just their cost of doing business. After all, I wouldn’t go there if it weren’t an all you can eat joint.

Now thankfully, the places I go don’t hassle me. Probably because they realize I could incinerate the place with a wave of my hand. But it’s still unfair for the overweight human to become “persona non grata” just because they happen to have a healthy appetite. I wish someone would try that with me. I’d really show them exactly what “all you can eat” really means. In another age, my kind ate humans. Roasted, over an open flame. Well done. And washed them down with a gallon of Orc Ale… fFfFfFfFfftththh…

Hearty eater’ claims buffet banned him – [Yahoo/AP]

3 Responses to “Are “All you can eat Buffets” no longer “All you can eat?””


  1. 1 sexualtrex
    January 3, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Everytime I read something like this it makes me think back to that old Simpson episode where Homer gets kicked out of the Buffet.

  2. January 3, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    That is eatist and fatist. I feel really bad for the guy. Maybe that annoying lawyer, Gloria Aldrich will sue for him.

  3. January 4, 2008 at 12:21 am

    @SexTrex
    These are the times when I wish I had watched more Simpsons when I had the chance…

    @ABC
    Seriously, you’re right, that is just all kinds of wrong. And I’m blaming the Political Correctness movement. I think PC has gotten so bad that people are manufacturing prejudices like eatism just so they can remain ornery… It’s a sad, sad world…


Leave a Reply

Feed Your Inner Objectivist

Add to My AOL
January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

