20
Jan
08

Pulling a “U” at the crossroads…

OK, so I think I’ve goofed. Nothing apocalyptic in nature, but still.

I’ve realized, while trying to find new blogging motivation over the course of the last month, that I have departed massively from the original intent of this blog. Fortunately, I also know why. The original intent was good. But it was also pretty boring.

I suppose it is easier to comment about unusual stories, often possessing an inherent comedic twist (however morbid), than it is to write about serious (AKA “boring”) topics in a critical light while at the same time trying to make the writing interesting. It’s been done to death. But I already knew this. So why did I do it anyway? I Dunno. Probably out of boredom. Cause it was easy. And perhaps, maybe, to see if I could make a few people think. Just a little.

But somewhere that changed. The “thought” goal got replaced with “humor”. Got a little too caught up in trying to be social/sociable. Bah. I should have known better. But C’est la vie. Anyway, I’ll be off to get proper directions, (again) and (maybe) give this a fresh start. Again. We’ll see. I have much to unlearn.

If enough pointless dumb stuff pops out at me screaming loud enough to make me want to bash them upside the head with a 15lb sledge, expect to be swiftly returned to your regularly scheduled programming…

Peace!

~Blade

6 Responses to “Pulling a “U” at the crossroads…”


  1. January 25, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    Hey there. I hope you find your direction, but I always enjoyed reading your blog. I got most of my news here. Keep in touch. – Andrea

  2. January 26, 2008 at 10:53 am

    I will take that as permission for me to continue the defacement of your blog with humorless comments. Thanks Andrea! 🙂

  3. January 27, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Let your blog flow with your sense of the absurd. No reason to try to box yourself in. Let what you have to say define the blog’s nature rather than the other way around. It will free you to write about what ever you like with out worrying about straying from some intent. The important thing is to have fun.
    Good luck.

    -pf

  4. January 28, 2008 at 12:46 am

    Thanks for the advice. My blog was not really motivated by fun to begin with. Humor was a secondary goal intended to ensure that my posts were balanced. I guess I am finding that my motivation for blogging is in talking about everyday, not-so-obvious snafus. Things that are obviously absurd, stupid or dumb seem to be becoming more and more pointless to blog about.

    But your point is well taken. Perhaps no form may be a better approach. It’s just I’m not really a “no form” kind of guy. I’ll have to work on it… 🙂

    Thanks!

    ~Blade

  5. May 29, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Please DO write more… I’ve enjoyed the reading, and hey *shrugs* you never know when you might write something to change someone’s life… welllll, maybe not change per se, but at least make them sit up and take notice. What? Not good enough for you? Ok…. why not write simply because you CAN. *huge grin* seriously, you’re good at it.

    enduring =)

  6. June 1, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Thanks for the compliment. I do intend to resume posts here in the future. I haven’t entirely given abandoned this blog, it’s just not the right time for it right now for me. I like to put a lot of thought into each and every post, and when I found myself under time constraints, and posting primarily for humor, I decided to give it a break for a while. And then life got in the way… But I do intend to revisit this at some point.

    But your comments are greatly appreciated… It is very encouraging to know that people still get something out of my efforts…

    ~Blade 🙂


Leave a Reply

Feed Your Inner Objectivist

Add to My AOL
January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

